The Southern Poverty Law Center built the most powerful private blacklisting infrastructure in the United States, then exported its methodology to South Africa. On 21 April 2026, a federal grand jury returned 11 counts of fraud, bank fraud, and money laundering. What the indictment exposed had been hiding in plain sight for decades.
A federal grand jury in Montgomery, Alabama returned an 11-count indictment on 21 April 2026. Acting Attorney General Todd Blanche announced the charges: wire fraud, false statements to a federally insured bank, and conspiracy to commit money laundering. The core allegation: between 2014 and 2023, the SPLC secretly funnelled more than $3 million in donor funds to paid informants inside the KKK, Aryan Nations, the National Socialist Movement, and the alleged organisers of the 2017 Charlottesville Unite the Right rally. The same groups the SPLC publicly claimed to be dismantling.
To disguise the payments, the SPLC allegedly created fictitious shell entities including accounts labelled "Fox Photography" and "Rare Books Warehouse" to transfer donor money to extremist group members. Not one donor was ever told. The SPLC's own website simultaneously ran campaigns asking the public to fund the fight against the very organisations allegedly receiving those payments.
One informant, designated F-37 in the DOJ indictment, was a member of the online leadership chat group that planned the 2017 Charlottesville rally. Per the indictment, he attended at SPLC's direction, made racist postings under SPLC supervision, and helped coordinate transportation for several attendees. He was allegedly paid $270,000 by the SPLC between 2015 and 2023. SPLC denies all allegations.
Charlottesville produced one death. SPLC citations in media spiked 6,600% that week. SPLC revenue jumped from $51M to $133M in twelve months. Apple gave $1 million. JPMorgan Chase gave $500,000. George and Amal Clooney gave $1 million. They were donating to an organisation that an indictment would later allege had helped organise the event that prompted their donations.
A House Judiciary Committee investigation found 13 internal FBI documents citing SPLC data, including a Richmond Field Office memo designating traditional Latin Mass Catholics as potential domestic terrorism risks. One FBI agent noted internally that "our overreliance on the SPLC for hate designation is problematic." In October 2025, FBI Director Kash Patel severed all ties with the SPLC, calling it a "partisan smear machine." The Biden Department of Justice had given SPLC employees early access to federal law enforcement data and held regular co-ordination meetings.
53 nodes. 105 documented connections. Drag to rotate, scroll to zoom, click any node for evidence context. Use the filter panel top-left to isolate groups. SPLC remains visible regardless of filter selection.
Groups: SPLC Core / Funders / US Media / International Media / SA Nodes / UK Europe / Corporates / Outputs. All connections based on documented funding relationships, citation chains, personnel movements, and verified institutional partnerships.
The SPLC is not a civil rights organisation that happens to be wealthy. The revenue structure reveals the mechanics of the model: designated threats are the product, and the product generates the income.
Revenue never fell below $97M after Charlottesville. Endowment reached $822M in 2024. Non-US equity holdings exceeded domestic holdings every year since 2016.
Non-US equity holdings exceeded domestic holdings every year since 2016. Form 990 filings confirm $57M in transfers to Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands, and Bermuda accounts. In 2015, $2.2M moved to a Cayman account in a single transaction. The organisation whose mandate concerns US domestic civil rights holds more investment assets outside the US than inside it.
The SPLC allegedly paid F-37 $270,000 over eight years (per DOJ indictment). In the twelve months following Charlottesville, revenue increased by $82 million. Apple, JPMorgan, and the Clooneys donated within weeks. If the allegation is proven, the return on that investment exceeds 30,000%.
From late 2024, CNN and MSNBC ran a 120-second SPLC fundraising advertisement hundreds of times, generating millions in advertising income paid by SPLC to those networks. Those same networks cited SPLC 392 times as an editorially independent source. The financial relationship between the networks and their "independent authority" was never disclosed.
Dees built SPLC as a direct-mail fundraising machine from 1971. By 2000, Harper's Magazine called it "essentially a fraud." The Montgomery Advertiser received a Pulitzer Prize nomination in 1995 for probing SPLC management. Dees was fired in March 2019 after 20 employees signed a letter alleging sexual harassment and racial discrimination. SPLC revenue remained above $97M annually throughout.
The SPLC did not simply publish research. It built a distribution network that placed its designations inside newsrooms, government databases, tech platforms, and international wire services, without disclosing the financial relationships binding those institutions to itself.
MSNBC cited the SPLC 246 times between 2017 and 2026, representing 63% of all documented cable TV citations, and conducted 35 on-air SPLC interviews. From late 2024, MSNBC simultaneously ran a 120-second SPLC fundraising advertisement hundreds of times, generating millions in advertising revenue. CNN cited SPLC 120 times and ran the same advertisement. Neither network disclosed this relationship to viewers at any point.
In 2017, ProPublica, funded by Soros's Foundation to Promote Open Society, launched the Documenting Hate project. SPLC supplied unverified incident reports. Google News Lab built a machine-learning index. More than 100 newsrooms, including the New York Times, the Guardian, NBC, BuzzFeed, and Vox, drew from the database and published the resulting stories under their own mastheads without disclosing the SPLC origin.
A Poynter freelancer "who typically works for SPLC" wrote content for the IFCN, the international fact-checking certification network that makes Africa Check Meta's official content moderator for South Africa. The SPLC-Poynter-IFCN-Africa Check-Meta chain is the route through which SPLC methodology reached South African content moderation decisions.
The DOJ indictment documents that one SPLC informant broke into an extremist group's headquarters, stole 25 boxes of documents, and sent copies to an SPLC employee who knew they were stolen. A separate informant was paid $6,000 to falsely confess to the theft. Material from those stolen documents was later used in Hatewatch stories, which partner newsrooms subsequently reported as independent journalism.
The SPLC never opened a South African office. It conducted no South African field research. It interviewed none of AfriForum's 295,000 members, examined none of its legal cases, and reviewed none of its court filings. It simply called AfriForum's leadership "white supremacists in suits and ties." That label was then relayed by Al Jazeera, The Atlantic, CNN, and dozens of other outlets as established fact.
George Soros personally financed the 1987 Dakar Conference at Van Zyl Slabbert's request, as confirmed in the OSF 30-Year Report (March 2025, Alex Soros foreword). The same human network that gathered in Dakar in 1987 with Soros financing included Max du Preez, who later founded Vrye Weekblad and signed the 2025 "Not In Our Name" letter used to counter Trump's Afrikaner refugee policy. Van Zyl Slabbert became OSF South Africa's founding chairman in 1993. This is a 38-year documented relationship, not speculation.
The Institute for Security Studies (ISS), headquartered in Pretoria, is the single largest OSF grant recipient in the entire global south, receiving $5.1 million across seven grants including a $2.9 million grant to "strengthen the rule of law." Its crime programme head, Gareth Newham, is cited as an independent expert in every major international media rebuttal of South African farm murder claims by NBC (2018 and 2025), PBS Newshour (2025), CNN, Al Jazeera, and NPR. His institution's OSF funding relationship is not disclosed in any of those reports.
US Ambassador to South Africa 2013 to 2016. OSF President 2017 to 2020 ($1.4 billion annual budget). In August 2018, while serving as OSF President and therefore funder of both ISS and Africa Check, Gaspard publicly described Trump's concerns about South African farm murders as a "disproven racial myth." The organisations whose counter-narratives validated that claim were simultaneously receiving funding from the foundation he ran. That relationship was not disclosed in any media coverage.
Unpublished connection: Stellenbosch University, where Professor Herman Wasserman defines "disinformation" for African media, received a documented $1,032,602 OSF grant per the ACCAI Presidential Portfolio Review, October 2015 (leaked internal OSF document from the 2016 DCLeaks dump; OSF did not dispute the authenticity of the documents). Wasserman's framework feeds Africa Check, which feeds IFCN, which feeds Meta content moderation decisions for South Africa. This connection has not appeared in any previously published analysis.
| Claim | Primary Source | Status |
|---|---|---|
| F-37 allegedly paid $270K; attended Charlottesville at SPLC direction | DOJ Grand Jury Indictment, 21 April 2026 | Allegation |
| SPLC revenue $51M (2016) to $133M (FY October 2017) | IRS Form 990 filings | Verified |
| $57M transferred to Caribbean accounts (Cayman, BVI, Bermuda) | SPLC Form 990 filings | Verified |
| SPLC citations spiked 6,600% during Charlottesville week | MRC/NewsBusters study, 23 April 2026 (stated methodology) | Verified |
| SPLC funded Poynter webinar training journalists, February 2018 | Poynter News University announcement | Verified |
| ISS is OSF's largest global south grant recipient ($5.1M) | Devex OSF grant database analysis | Verified |
| Stellenbosch University received $1,032,602 OSF ACCAI grant | DCLeaks ACCAI Portfolio Review, October 2015 (OSF did not dispute authenticity) | Verified |
| Soros personally financed Dakar 1987 at Slabbert's request | OSF 30-Year Report, March 2025 (Alex Soros foreword) | Verified |
| Gaspard was OSF President while tweeting SA farm murder concerns were a "disproven racial myth" | Archived Gaspard tweet, August 2018; OSF annual report | Partially verified |
| Al Jazeera relayed SPLC AfriForum label, February 21 2025 | Al Jazeera article, 21 February 2025 (archived) | Verified |
| Apple $1M, JPMorgan $500K, Clooneys $1M donations post-Charlottesville | Multiple wire services, August-September 2017 | Verified |
| Alleged $3M to KKK-affiliated and extremist group members, 2014-2023 | DOJ Grand Jury Indictment, 21 April 2026 | Allegation (SPLC denies) |